17 states sue over rule entitling staff to some abortion lodging

Republican attorneys normal from 17 states have filed a lawsuit difficult a rule entitling staff to some abortion lodging, alleging the regulation adopted by the Equal Employment Alternative Fee (EEOC) is in overreach. 

The lawsuit, led by Tennessee and Arkansas, was filed in federal district court docket in jap Arkansas on Thursday. IT alleges that EEOC’s rule, which applied the Pregnant Employees Equity Act, is in violation of the legislation. 

The rule, applied in mid-April, requires these lined below IT to be given “affordable lodging” when IT involves childbirth, being pregnant and different circumstances. IT had bipartisan help when IT handed in Congress. 

“An unelected physique just like the EEOC Fee doesn’t have the authority to rewrite legal guidelines handed by Congress,” Alabama’s Lawyer Normal Steve Marshall stated in an announcement. “Congress sought to make sure lodging on the job to advertise the Health of pregnant ladies and their infants.

“[President] Biden’s EEOC has illegally reworked that bipartisan legislation right into a mandate that employers facilitate abortions. Biden is once more violating the legislation to advertise his radical agenda, and we are going to once more cease him.”

The ultimate laws had been adopted by the EEOC on April 19 in a 3-2 vote.

The states are arguing the EEOC “seeks to hijack these new protections for pregnancies by requiring employers to accommodate staff’ abortions — one thing Congress didn’t authorize.” 

Additionally they alleged their states would face “varied” prices, “together with these related to misplaced productiveness, shift masking, and provision of further depart days, amongst others.” 

Compliance and human assets prices can be one other monetary hit for the states, in keeping with the lawsuit. 

Along with Tennessee, Arkansas and Alabama, the opposite states becoming a member of the lawsuit are Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah and West Virginia.

Copyright 2024 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This materials might not be revealed, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top